Eight High Court judges take oath

DHAKA, Feb 12, 2017 (BSS) - Eight newly appointed High Court judges took oath this morning at Supreme Court Judges' Lounge.

Chief Justice Surendra Kumar Sinha administered the oath, while Supreme Court Registrar General Syed Aminul Islam conducted the oath taking ceremony in presence of judges of both the divisions of the apex court.

The eight judges are Justice S M Mozibur Rahman, Justice Amir Hossain, Justice Khizir Ahmed Choudhury, Justice Razik-Al-Jalil, Justice Bhishmadev Chakrabortty, Justice Md Iqbal Kabir, Justice Md Salim and Justice Md Shohrowardi.

President Abdul Hamid in consultation with Chief Justice Surendra Kumar Sinha has appointed the eight additional judges of High Court Division as judges of the same division.

Law and Justice Division issued a gazette notification in this regard on February 7. All the eight judges were elevated as additional judge of the High Court Division on February 12, 2015.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)