EC okays eight candidature, cancels one for NCC mayoral race

The nomination papers of eight mayoral candidates out of nine were declared valid on Sunday for the upcoming second Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) polls.

Returning officer Nuruzzaman Talukdar declared the names of aspirant mayoral candidates on the last day of scrutinizing the nomination papers.

The legal candidates are Selina Hayat Ivy (Awami League), Advocate

Sakhawat Hossain Khan (BNP), Mesbah Uddin Bhulu (Jatiya Party), Advocate Mahbubur Rahman Ismail (Workers Party), Mufti Masum Billah (Islami Andalon), Moslem Uddin (Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal), Kamal Pradhan (Liberal Democratic Party) and Rashed Ferdous (Kalyan Party).

Besides, the nomination paper of 160 general councilors and 35 female councilors in reserve seats have been declared valid.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)