Government Policy

Duty-free access to Eurasian region likely: Tofail

DHAKA, June 2, 2017 (BSS) - Bangladesh is likely to get duty-free access to the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) region comprising Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kirgistan and Russian Federation, said Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed.

"Bangladesh has taken a decision to ink a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the EAEU to get duty-free access on Bangladeshi products to EAEU markets," he said in a global economic meeting in Russia on Thursday night, said a press release here today.

The minister was addressing as a panelist a session titled "The Sco and Prospects for the Development of Broad Eurasian Partnership" of the Saint Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF).

After signing of the MoU, Tofail said, Bangladesh exports will increase many times and the EAEU countries will get opportunity to buy the products in lower prices.

He also said Bangladesh has keen interest to join as a member at the Shanghai Cooperation Organization comprising China, Kazakhstan, Kirgistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)