Citi confers Microentrepreneurship Awards

DHAKA, April 16, 2017 (BSS)- Citi Foundation yesterday conferred 12th Citi Microentrepreneurship Awards (CMA) in six categories to 14 entrepreneurs and microfinance organizations.

Planning Minister A H M Mustafa Kamal handed over a crest, a cheque and a certificate to each of the fourteen winners at a ceremony as chief guest.

State minister for finance and planning M A Mannan was present as special guest while Bangladesh Bank deputy governor S K Sur Chowdhury as guest of honor with Dr Wahiduddin Mahmud, Chairperson of the 12th CMA Advisory Committee, in the chair.

M Zillur Rahman Chowdhury from Shaluka of Naogaon received the "Best Microentrepreneur of the Year" award with BDT 450,000 while M Saiduzzaman Sarkar from Sherpur of Bogra won first runner-up with BDT 150,000 and M Azijul Hoque Sikder from Taltali of Barguna became second runner-up with BDT 100,000.

In "Best Women Microentrepreneur of the Year" Category, Ruma Akter from Bajrayogini of Munshiganj got the best award with BDT 350,000 while Fazilatun Nessa from Mohammadpur of Dhaka as first Runner-up with BDT 150,000 and Rubama Sharmin from Dampara of Chittaging as second runner-up with BDT 100,000.

Besides, M Rubel Dewan from Ashulia of Savar won "Best Youth Microentrepreneur of the Year" and received BDT 350,000 while Rahima Khatun (Mukta) from Gobindaganj of Gaibandha became first runner-up with BDT 150,000 and M Taifur Rahman Raju from Bera of Pabna as Second runner-up with BDT 100,000.

In "Best Microentrepreneur of the Year in Agriculture" Category, Saima Khatun from Shyamnagar of Satkhira won the award and received BDT 350,000 while M Altaf Hossain from Khansama of Dinajpur became first runner-up with BDT 150,000 and M Nurul Amin Sardar from Zajira of Shariatpur as second runner-up with BDT 100,000.

On the other hand, Peoples Oriented Program Implementation (POPI) received the "Best Microfinance Institution of the Year" award while Village Education Resource Center (VERC) got the "Most Innovative Microfinance Institution of the Year".

Citi Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Citigroup, has been giving the awards.

Sub-Cluster Head of Citi Bangladesh and Sri Lanka James Morrow, Managing Director and Country Officer Rashed Maqsood, Executive Director- Sajida Foundation Zahida Fizza Kabir, Executive Director- Credit and Development Forum Md. Abdul Awal, Microentrepreneurs from different districts, representatives from microfinance institutions as well as officials from the ministries and the central bank, diplomats, dignitaries and members from the Advisory Council and Screening Committee of the 12th CMA program were also present.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)