Government Policy

Cabinet division issues gazette on search committee for EC

DHAKA, Jan 26, 2017 (BSS) - The cabinet division yesterday issued a gazette notification disclosing the names of a six-member search committee to reconstitute the next Election Commission (EC).

Earlier, President Abdul Hamid formed the six-member search committee after holding a series of talks with 31 registered political parties on formation of the next Election Commission.

The members are Supreme Court Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, High Court Division Judge Obaidul Hassan, Bangladesh Public Service Commission Chairman Dr Muhammed Sadique, Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) of Bangladesh Masud Ahmed, Dhaka University Professor Syed Manzoorul Islam and Chittagong University Pro-Vice Chancellor Shireen Akhter.

The committee will recommend the names of the members for reconstitution of the EC ahead of the next parliamentary polls.

The next commission, which will have no more than five commissioners, will be in office for a five- year term. The tenure of the current EC members expires on February 8.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)