BTF, BJP meet President over EC formation

DHAKA, Jan 3, 2017 (BSS) - Bangladesh Tariqat Federation (BTF)and Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP) today separately put forward a series of proposals to reform the election commission (EC) as leaders of the two parties met President Abdul Hamid as part of his initiatives to hold talks with political parties on constituting a new EC.

"Tariqat Federation (BTF) placed a 17-point proposal while BJP proposal contained five points," President's Press Secretary Joynal Abedin told newsmen after the meetings.

Placing a17-point proposal, he said, BTF sought the search committee to find out appropriate men to comprise the new EC to be manned by people having belief in the spirit of Liberation War.

The president house spokesman said BJP placed five proposals on constituting the search committee and nine proposals for strengthening the EC.

BTF Chairman Nazibul Basher Maizvandary led the party's 10-member delegation and BJP Chairman Andaleeve Rahman Partha led his party's eight-member delegation in the discussions held at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban.

BTF's proposals include enactment of a law as per the constitution to appoint election commissioners and ensuring financial freedom of the EC.

President Hamid thanked the BTF delegation for their well-thought opinion and proposals and hoped that it would be possible to from a strong EC through the opinion and proposals of political parties.

BJP proposed including a representative from business community both in search committee and the EC. It also proposed to form an 8-member EC.

President Hamid said democracy moves forward through mutual trust and confidence adding that the consensus among political parties is needed to hold fair polls.

Secretaries concerned to the President were present.

President Hamid initiated the formal talks with political parties for formation of the new EC through holding discussion with BNP on December 18 last year. The tenure of the current Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad-led EC expires in February.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)