Fun & Games

BSS DUJ Unit hails PM for giving DA to journalists

Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) Unit of Dhaka Union of Journalists (DUJ) today expressed gratitude to and thanked Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for providing 45 percent dearness allowance (DA) to journalists and employees of the newspaper industry.

The newly elected BSS Unit of DUJ extended the thanks at its first meeting held at the BSS board room here this afternoon.

BSS Unit Chief Sajjad Hossain Sabuj presided over the meeting while Deputy Unit Chief Kazi Golam Alauddin conducted it.

Speakers at the meeting demanded quick announcement and implementation of the 9th Wage Board Award in the newspaper industry.

They also strongly demanded payment of all pending bills of BSS, including overtime bills, night and medical allowances.

Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ) executive committee members Khairuzzaman Kamal and Nure Akhtar Seema, BSS Chief News Editor Anisur Rahman, BFUJ former Treasurer Madhusudan Mondal, former BSS Unit Chief Ashequn Nabi Chowdhury, former Deputy Unit Chief Ruhul Gani Sarker Jyoti, News Editor Ayub Bhuiyan, Deputy Chief Reporters Kanai Chakrabarty and Mahmudul Hasan Raju, Dhaka Sub-Editor Council President KM Shahidul Hoque, journalists Majibur Rahman Jitu, Shameema Yasmin, Asraful Huq Jewel, Mazharul Anwar Khan Shipu, Selina Sheuly, Ihita Jalil, Pradyot Sri Barua and Kabir Ahmed Khan spoke at the meeting, among others.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)