BPL Football: Kings to play Dhaka Abahani in 12th round opener on Sunday

Two unbeaten and title aspirant teams --Bashundhara Kings and Dhaka Abahani Ltd --will lock horn in the vital league match at 4:pm at the country's premier sports venue-- Bangabandhu National Stadium (BNS) here.

After the 11th round matches, Federation Cup Champions and star studded Bashundhara Kings comfortably dominated league table with unbeaten record securing 31 points from eleven matches.

Dhaka Abahani Ltd and three-time champions Sheikh Jamal DC were in the distant 2nd with unbeaten run collecting 22 points each from ten matches, playing one match than the Kings.

It will be an almost must-win match for Dhaka Abahani to stay in the title race in absence of their injury-grab captain cum striker Nabib Newaj Jibon while well prepared Bashundhara Kings will try best to consolidate their lead further beating Abahani.

Arambagh KS remained at bottom of the 13-team league with only one point playing ten matches while old horse Brothers Union was in the 12th slot bagging two points from ten outings. Both the teams are yet to earn any win in the league.

Sheikh Russel KC will play Uttar Baridhara Club in the other 12th round opener on Sunday at 3 pm at the Shaheed Ahsanullah Master Stadium in Tongi.

On the following day (Monday), Federation Cup runners-up Saif Sporting Club will encounter Bangladesh Police FC at 3:45 pm while two lowly team Arambagh KS and Brothers Union Club will meet each other at 6:15 pm, both at the Bangabandhu National Stadium here.

Meanwhile, former Assistant FIFA Referee Sujit Kumar Banerjee will retire tomorrow (Sunday) during the Kings-Abahani crucial match at BNS.

Source: United News of Bangladesh