BPL Football: Dhaka Abahani share top slot with B Kings Saif SC

The six times champions Dhaka Abahani Limited shared the top slot in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football along with the defending champions Bashundhara Kings and Saif SC after beating old Dhaka outfit Rahmatgonj MFS by 1-0 goal at the Bangabandhu National Stadium here on Sunday.

After the days win the traditional sky-blue Dhanmondi outfit Abahani Limited returned to the winning way after making a draw with Brothers Union in the last match and dominated the league table jointly securing seven points each from three matches.

Minnows Rahamatgonj MFS snatched a vital point from former champions Sheikh Russel KC in previous match.

After a barren first half captain Nabib Newaz Zibon put Abahani ahead in the 55th minute by flying header from a vintage position utilizing a free kick of former national skipper Mamunul Islam (1-0).

Abahani got the free kick when their forward Saad Uddin was fouled by Rahmatgonj defenders outside the danger zone. Unmarked Zibon got a flick in the box and received the ball Rahmatgonj players claimed Zibon was in offside position but referee and assistant referee kept their previous decision.

Rahmatgonj players lost their temper and concentration that interrupted match for few times where Abahani players also involved in clash with their opponents. Both teams got few chances to score but couldnt toke its fruit.

Three matches will be held in the 4th round openers on Monday in two venues of Dhaka and Chattogram

Dhaka Abahani: Shahidul Alam (GK) Rayhan Hasan Nasiruddin Mailson Sohel Rana Mamunul Islam Belfort Nabib Newaz Zibon (C) Saad Uddin Sunday Chizoba and Edger.

Rahmatgonj MFS: Rasel Mahmud Liton (GK) Ascorov Camara Younoccsa Mahmudul Hasan Kiron Nahidul Islam Asraf Hossian Didarul Alam Shahedul Alam Turaev Akbar Shuel Miah and Momodou Bah (C).

Source: United News of Bangladesh