Government Policy

BPL Football begins on Friday at three venues

The eleven-team Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football, country’s most prestigious football competition, begins on Friday (December 9) at three venues in the capital and in district headquarters.


Holders and Independence Cup champions Bashundhara Kings will play newcomer Azampur Football Club, Uttara at Bashundhara Sports Complex in Dhaka, Dhaka Abahani Limited will face Fortis Football Club Ltd at Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla while Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club will meet Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society at Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj, all matches will kick off at 2:30 pm on the opening day (Friday).


In the remaining first round matches, Dhaka Mohammedan SC Ltd will encounter Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad KC Ltd at Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla while Independence Cup finalist Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra will play Bangladesh Police FC at Bashundhara Sports Complex, both will kick-off at 2:30 pm.


The 2nd round league matches will be held on December 23-24 after a 12-day recess for the victory day while the 3rd round matches will be held on December 30-31 after the Christmas Day.


The first phase league scheduled to be completed on February 18 as per fixture announced by Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) on Thursday.


Source: United News of Bangladesh