BPL Football: Bashundhara Kings maintain winning streak

Defending champions Bashundhara Kings strengthened their hold on top spot in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football after beating Bangladesh Police FC 2-1 Thursday in Rajshahi.

At the Muktijoddha Smriti Stadium, Brazilian midfielder Miguel scored both goals for the Kings in the 12th and 30th minutes. His compatriot defender Danilo Augusto pulled one back for Police FC in the 80th minute from a penalty.

In the day’s other match, six times champions Dhaka Abahani slipped up in the title race after playing out a 1-1 draw with former champions Sheikh Russel KC at the Sylhet District Stadium.

Mehedi Hasan put Abahani ahead in the 34th minute while Dipok netted one for Sheikh Russel in the stoppage time of the match (95th minute).

Manik of Sheikh Russel KC received a red card in the 80th minute and was sent off.

At the Bir Shreshtha Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj, three times champions Sheikh Jamal DC beat Rahmatganj MFS 1-0. Nigerian striker Musa Tachi scored the winning goal in the 6th minute.

At the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla, Saif SC outplayed Dhaka Mohammedan SC 3-1.

Asror Gafurov, Mfon Sunday and Emeka Ogbugh scored one each for Saif SC in the 18th, 23rd and 80th minutes while Jafar Iqbal scored a consolation goal for Mohammedan in the 81st minute.

After the day’s 15th round matches, Bashundhara Kings consolidated top spot on the table, securing 38 points, second-placed Dhaka Abahani collected 32 points, third-placed Sheikh Jamal 30 points and fourth-placed Saif SC 27 points.

Source: United News of Bangladesh