BPL Final: Rajshahi Royals post challenging 170 vs Khulna Tigers

Rajshahi Royals posted 170 for four in 20 overs against Khulna Tigers in the final of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Friday.

Khulna Tigers won the toss and sent Rajshahi Royals to bat first. Despite a good start, Royals lost Afif Hossain (10) in the third over. He fell prey to a short ball by Mohammad Amir.

Afif skied the ball and Mehidy Hasan Miraz sprinted from his position to take a wonderful catch at short third-man area.

In the second wicket stand, Liton Das and Irfan Shukkur posted 49 runs. But Liton fell for 25 off 28 with one four and one six.

However, Irfan proved his mettle scoring 52 of 35 with six fours and two sixes. Along the process of hitting a fifty, Irfan became the only uncapped Bangladeshi to hit a fifty in BPL final.

Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik came to bat at number four and scored nine only. After losing four for 99, Royals added 71 in the last 34 balls.

Afghanistan batsman Mohammad Nawaz remained unbeaten for 41 off 20 balls with six fours and two sixes while Andre Russell also remained unbeaten for 27 off 16 with three sixes.

Mohammad Amir of Pakistan took two wickets conceding 35 runs in four overs while Robbie Frylinck and Shohidul Islam took one wicket each.

Khulna Tigers XI: Mushfiqur Rahim (wk and captain), Rilee Rossouw, Robbie Frylinck, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shamsur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Najibullah Zadran, Shafiul Islam, Mohammad Amir, Shohidul Islam, Tanvir Islam

Rajshahi Royals XI: Alok Kapali, Farhad Reza, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Irfan Shukkur, Shoaib Malik, Andre Russell (captain), Mohammad Nawaz and Mohammad Irfan.

Source: United News of Bangladesh