BNP to hold rally in city on Monday

BNP will observe what it says 'democracy-killing day' on Monday with various programmes, marking the first anniversary of the 11th parliamentary election.

To mark the day, the party leaders and activists will hold protest rallies across the country, including in the capita, to register their protest against the December-30 national election held last year.

The party will hold a rally in front of its Nayapaltan central office in the capital in the afternoon.

BNP senior leaders will address the rally, scheduled to begin at 2pm.

Besides, the party leaders and activists across the country will wear black badges while black flags will be hoisted atop all of its party offices, including the Nayapaltan central one.

BNP standing committee members at a meeting last week decided to observe December 30 as the 'democracy-killing day'.

On Sunday, Jatiya Oikyafront staged a demonstration in front of the Jatiya Press Club in protest against the last general election on the eve of its first anniversary.

The alliance leaders urged the ruling party to take steps for holding a fresh election annulling the December-30 one to establish a representative and elected administration.

BNP along with Gonoforum and some other parties joined the national election in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikyafront. BNP bagged six seats while Gonoforum two in the election.

The party and its alliances turned down the election results bringing various irregularities, including 'massive vote robbery and night-time ballot stuffing'.

They have also been demanding reelection cancelling the December-30 polls since the announcement of the results.

However, the eight Oikyafront MPs joined parliament.

Only BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected MP from Bogura-6 seat, did not take oath of office.

Later, the Election Commission declared the seat vacant and arranged by-election to the constituency on June 24.

Golam Mohammad Sirajul Islam contested the by-polls with BNP's ticket and got elected MP and subsequently took oath of office.

Source: United News of Bangladesh