BNP MPs’ vacant seats: EC likely to announce schedule of by-polls on Dec 15

The Election Commission (EC) might announce the schedule of by-elections to the parliamentary seats that fell vacant after resignation of BNP MPs on Thursday, Election Commissioner Md Alamgir has said.


He said this while talking to journalists at the Election Commission office at Agargaon on Monday.


READ: BNP to stage demonstration at Nayapaltan tomorrow


“We’ve received the gazette announcing the seats left by BNP MPs to be empty. We’ll soon hold a meeting where we’ll decide when to hold the by-polls,” said Alamgir.


On December 11, five out of seven BNP members of the parliament (MPs) submitted their resignation to Speaker of the Parliament Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, as part of their anti-government movement with a 10-point demand that includes dissolution of parliament.


The MPs who resigned are: Md. Zahidur Rahman, Thakurgaon-3; Md. Mosharof Hosen, Bogura-4; Gulam Mohammad Siraj, Bogura-6; Md. Aminul Islam, Chapainawabganj-2 and Rumeen Farhana, from women’s reserved seats.


READ: BNP MPs to submit their resignation to Speaker of Parliament today


Md. Harunur Rashid of Chapainawabganj-3, who is now in Australia and ailing MP of Brahmanbaria-2 Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan could not submit resignation to the Speaker in person.


Earlier, Rumeen Farhana announced the decision from the party’s Golapbagh rally on Saturday.


The MPs sent their resignation through an email on Saturday.


Source: United News of Bangladesh