BD women’s team leaves for Sri Lanka tomorrow

DHAKA, Feb. 02, 2017 (BSS)- The Bangladesh women's cricket team, lead by Rumana Ahmed, leave for Sri Lankan capital of Colombo tomorrow (Friday) to participate in the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2017.

Ten teams, split into two groups, will participate in the tournament.

Bangladesh and Ireland qualify automatically by virtue of having One Day International (ODI) status, while the other eight teams included the bottom four teams of the 2014-16 ICC Women's Championship and the four winners of the regional qualifiers.

The top four teams at the World Cup Qualifier will qualify for the World Cup.

Bangladesh placed in group B along with Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and South Africa will play their tournament opening match against Papua New Guinea on February 7, the second against Pakistan on February 8, the third against Scotland on February 10 and fourth and last group match against South Africa on February 11.

SQUAD Bangladesh - Rumana Ahmed (captain), Fargana Hoque, Sanjida Islam, Jahanara Alam, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Nigar Sultana (wicketkeeper), Panna Ghosh, Ritu Moni, Salma Khatun, Sarmin Sultana, Sharmin Akter, Suraya Azmin, Shaila Sharmin and Morsheda Khatun.

Coach: David Capel

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)