BCB to add two new franchisees for BPL T20

DHAKA, Bangladesh Cricket Board posted an advertisement on its official website, seeking two new franchisees for the upcoming edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Monday.

The BPL is set to kickoff with an inauguration ceremony on December 3. The first match of the tournament will begin on December 6.

DBBL group who owns the Chittagong Vikings has already withdrawn their name from the tournament while Barisal franchise which didn't take part in the tournament in the last two editions could be added this year.

In that case, eight teams will play for the first time in tournament's history.

Chittagong Vikings owner has officially informed us that they will not form the team this year. That's why they will sell their ownership while we would add another team this year. That's why we posted advertisement seeking two teams, said BCB CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury.

The BPL governing council of BCB invited offers from the reputed organizations and other houses, except the companies related to tobacco, alchohol, online betting houses for the franchise right for a period of four editions (7t0th), covering two regional franchise teams.

The last date of the submission of Expression of Interest (EoI) is on August 20.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)