BCB President’s Cup: Tamim XI take on Mahmudullah XI Tuesday

In the second game of the ongoing BCB President’s Cup, Tamim XI will take on Mahmudullah XI on Tuesday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.


It’ll be the second game for Mahmudullah Riyad and his team while the ODI captain of Bangladesh Tamim Iqbal and his team will take the field for the first time in this event.


In the first game, Mahmudullah XI lost by four wickets to the Najmul XI led by the youngster Najmul Hossain Shanto. Towhid Hridoy and Irfaan Shukkur hit a fifty each to seal the game chasing a moderate total of 196 runs.


Along with the batsmen, Taskin Ahmed, Mukidul Islam and Al Amin Hossain did very well for Najmul XI. They will have to replicate the same performance in order to register a consecutive second win.


Tamim Iqbal, captain of Tamim XI, said that they have two extra days to practice as a team before taking the field in BCB President’s Cup.


“It’s going to be our first game in the event. We had a very good practice session. We’ve got two extra days to practice as a team. We’ve some players from the World Cup-winning U-19 team. They shared with us how they had progressed in the World Cup,” Tamim said in a video message sent to the media.


“As I said earlier, this event is going to be a high-voltage event of cricket. Everyone in our team is excited to do well and we’ve had a good practice session today. I’m looking forward to opening the innings with another Tamim— Tanzid Hasan Tamim. He looked very good. I’ve shared the net with him,” Tamim added.


The match will kick off at 1:30pm and will be streamed live through BCB’s official Facebook page and YouTube channel.


Tamim XI: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Mosaddek Hossain, Md Mithun, Shahadat Hossain, Yasir Ali, Akbar Ali, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Syed Khaled, Shoriful Islam, Sk Mahadi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Minhajul Abedin Afridi and Stand by: Shafiqul Islam, Mahidul Ankon, Mehedi Hasan Rana


Mahmudulla XI: Mahmudullah Riyad (Captain), Naim Sheikh, Litton Das, Mominul Haque, Mahmudul Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shabbir Rahaman, Imrul Kayes, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rakibul Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, and standby: Abu Haider Rony, Sunzamul Islam, Hasan Murad


Fixture of BCB President Cup:


Oct 11: Mahmudullah XI vs Najmul XI (Najmul XI won by four wickets)


Oct 13: Mahmudullah XI vs Tamim XI


Oct 15: Tamim XI vs Najmul XI


Oct 16: Mahmudullah vs Najmul XI


Oct 19: Mahmudullah vs Tamim XI


Oct 21: Tamim XI vs Najmul XI


Oct 23: the final


Source: United News of Bangladesh