BCB President’s Cup: Mahmudullah XI restrict Tamim XI to 103

Mahmudullah XI restricted Tamim XI to 103 runs on Tuesday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the second match of the BCB President’s Cup.


Mahmudullah Riyad, the captain of Mahmudullah XI, won the toss and sent Tamim XI to bat first.


Tamim Iqbal and Tanzid Hasan Tamim opened the innings. Rubel Hossain picked Iqbal’s wicket with only two runs on the board.


Tanzid and Anamul added 38 runs in the second wicket stand. Rain disrupted the game and forced the match to be reduced to 47-over a side.


Tanzid was looking impressive in the middle smashing three fours to score 27 runs off 18 balls. He was also sent back to the pavilion by Rubel.


Right after removing Tanzid, Rubel also picked up the wicket of Mohammad Mithun who failed to add anything to the board.


Shahadat Hossain Dipu and Mosaddek Hossain failed to do well as they fell prey to Sumon Khan respectively for one and five runs.


Anamul Haque Bijoy was Tamim XI’s only recognised batsman at the other end of the wicket. But he couldn’t take the advantage as he got out for 25 in the very next ball after hitting a six off Sumon.


Mohammad Saifuddin and Sheikh Mahadi Hasan scored 12 and 19 respectively. Tamim XI tumbled for 103 runs in 23.1 overs.


For Mahmudullah XI, Rubel and Sumon bagged three wickets each conceding 16 and 31 runs respectively. Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Aminul Islam Biplob scalped two wickets each as well.


Brief score:


Tamim XI 103/10 in 23.1 overs Tanzid Hasan 27, Anamul Haque 25, Mahadi Hasan 19, Saifuddin 19; Rubel 3/16, Sumon 3/31, Miraz 2/2 and Aminul 2/17


Playing team:


Tamim XI: Tamim Iqbal, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mohammad Mithun, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Sheikh Mahadi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shariful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman


Mahmudullah XI: Mahmudullah Riyad, Naim Sheikh, Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Aminul Islam Biplob, Sumon Khan, Rubel Hossain.


Source: United News of Bangladesh