BCB mulling national players’ contract period reduction

DHAKA, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) is pondering to reduce players' contract period to six months instead of one year in a bid to keep the in pressurized situation for their bad performance.

The key reason to mull the decision was Bangladesh team's recent performance in the World Cup followed by their drubbing in the three-match one-day international series during the tour of Sri Lanka.

BCB decided to shorten the contracted players list after board of directors approved the new list that was trimmed to 10 from 16 in 2018.

This is not a new rule. If we want we can introduce a new player and drop for disciplinary actions or for bad performance. So it has always been there. And this time, we have the intention to do that, BCB Cricket Operations Chairman Akram Khan said here on Sunday.

He however added that though it is not finalized yet, they are thinking on these lines and will soon table it during a meeting.

Akram said that they are considering cutting short the duration of contract because of performance but added he does not believe it will have a negative impact on the players.

Yes, performance is a factor here. And we can include new players too, and drop the players who are not performing. We will consider everything, said Akram.

The contract is there for one year, but there is an extended option that we can exclude or include anyone after six months. This is nothing new, he said.

After June, it might be longer than six months. It depends on us. It's not like we have to maintain the six months rule. It's in our rule book. So whenever we want to do it,' we can' he said.

BCB awarded a significant pay-hike to the players last year when it raised the salary of A+ category to Tk 4 lakh and the salary of A category players to Tk 3 lakh. B category players receive Tk 2 lakh, C category get 1.5 lakh and D category players receive Tk 1 lakh per month.

Contracted players: Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mominul Haque, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)