BCB announces 35-member squad for conditioning camp

DHAKA, The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 35-member squad for a condition camp for the one-off Test against Afghanistan and subsequent tri-nation T20 series involving Zimbabwe and Afghanistan on Saturday.

The condition camp begins on Monday under the supervision of national team strength and condition coach Mario Villavarayen.

Despite not playing Test and T20 cricket, ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza made room in the squad as the team management wants him to keep fit.

Mashrafe was ruled out from Bangladesh three-match ODI series against Sri Lank at the eleventh hour due to his hamstring injury.

The BCB though wanted to arrange a lone ODI against Zimbabwe in September to give him a befitting fare-well, he ruled out any chance of taking retirement at this moment and requested board to give him two months more to think about his future.

Apart from two-Shafiqul Islam and Aminul Islam Biplob, the rest of the 33 players were called up in the past for a conditioning camp in different period.

Tamim Iqbal was not included after his request to take a break from the cricket is granted.

But the notable omission is opener Anamul Haque Bijoy in the large pool of players. Bijoy was the part of the national team in the recently concluded three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Squad: Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shadman Islam, Jahurul Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Sabbir Rahman, Afif Hossain, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shaiful Islam, Farhad reza, Abu Jayed Rahi, Abu Haider Rony, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ariful Haque, Yasir Ali, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Saif Hasan, Nayeem Shaik, Nayeem Hasan, Shahidul Islam, Shafiqul Islam, Yasir Arafat Mishu, Mehedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)