Bangladesh to bat first in the first T20I vs Afghanistan

Bangladesh have won the toss and opted to bat first in the first T20I against Afghanistan on Thursday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka.

Bangladesh included uncapped Munim Shahriar and Yasir Ali in the squad. Munim has recently drawn the attention performing well in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) representing Fortune Barishal under the captaincy of Shakib Al Hasan.

Yasir, the right-handed batter, has been around the national team for a while now. He has been performing good in the domestic circuit for a few years but failed to prove his mettle in the ODI series prior to the T20 series against Afghanistan.

Bangladesh also included Mohammad Naim in the playing XI despite his lean show in the BPL.

Bangladesh are going to miss the service of Mushfiqur Rahim in this match due to a contusion of the right thumb. To replace him, Bangladesh included Nurul Hasan Sohan in the squad who is not in the playing XI of the first match.

The second match of the series will take place on March 5 at the same venue.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Liton Das (w), Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad (c), Yasir Ali, Afif Hossain, Munim Shahriar, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (w), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi(c), Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Karim Janat, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Qais Ahmad

Source: United News of Bangladesh