Bangladesh Police, Saif SC take joint lead

Reigning champions Bangladesh Police and runners-up SAIF Sporting Club took joint lead in the points table with maximum four points after the second round matches of the “Mujib Barsho” Premier Division Chess League now being held Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room.

Uttara Central Chess Club and Titas Club are jointly stand at second position with three points.

In the day’s second round matches held today, Bangladesh Police beat Leonine Chess Club by 3.5-0.5 game points. IM Mohammad Fahad Rahman, Indian GM Raunak Sadhwani and GM Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh Police won against Shahnaz Mohammad Faruque, Shubayan Kundu and CM Shawket Bin Osman Shaon of Leonine Chess Club Indian. IM Aronyak Ghosh of Leonine Chess Club split point with GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly of Bangladesh Police. SAIF Sporting Club beat Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society by 4-0 game points. Indian GM B. Adhiban, Belarusian GM Vladisllav Kovalev, GM Reefat Bin Sattar and FM Mehdi Hasan Parag of SAIF Sporting Club won against Hasan Emam, FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman, Sanket Chakrovarty and Mihir Lal Das of Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society respectively.

Uttara Central Chess Club beat Bangladesh Navy by 3-1 game points. IM Mitrabha Guha and IM Koustav Chatterjee of Uttara Central Chess Club beat IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin and FM Kahndaker Aminul Islam respectively.

CM Tahsin Tajwar Zia and CM Manon Reja Neer of Uttara Central Chess Club split point with IM Abu Sufian Shakil and FM Subrota Biswas of Bangladesh Navy respectively.

Sheikh Russel Chess Club beat Sonali Bank Sports and Recreation Club by 2.5-0.5 game points. Kaustuv Kundu and WIM Sharmin Sultana Shirin of Sheikh Russel Chess Club won against Protul Chandra Bose and Dewan Shahidul Amin of Sonali Bank Sports and Recreation Club respectively.

Indian IM Anup Deshmukh of Sonali Bank beat CM Nayem Haque of Sheikh Russel Chess Club and WIM Rani Hamid of Sheikh Russel Chess Club drew with Indian IM Sekhar Chandra Sahu of Sonali Bank.

Titas Club split point with Shahin Chess Club by 2-2 game points. Indian GM Erigaisi Arjun and CM Ikramul Haq Siam of Titas Club won against CM Sohel Chowdhury and FM Debaraj Chatterjee of Shahin Chess Club. Indian GM Puranik Abhimanyu and Indian GM S L Narayanan of Shahin Chess Club won against GM IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad and Md Masum Hossain of Titas Club respectively.

The league is sponsored by Saif Powertec Limited. The third round matches start tomorrow (Sunday) from 3pm at same venue.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)