Bangabandhu Premier Volleyball League begins on Wednesday

The Bangabandhu Popular Life Insurance 21st Premier Division Volleyball League, organized by Bangladesh Volleyball Federation (BVF), begins on Wednesday at the Shaheed Nur Hossain National Volleyball Stadium here.

M Akhter Hossain, secretary of the Youth and Sports Ministry, will inaugurate the 14-day meet as chief guest. The inaugural ceremony will start at 3 pm.

On the opening day, PDB will play Bangladesh Ansar at 2 pm and holders Titas Club will face Dhaka Sabuj at 4 pm.

A total of 10 teams, split into two groups, will compete in the meet.

BVF General Secretary Ashiqur Rahman Miku disclosed the details of the league in a press conference at the conference room of Bangabandhu National Stadium here on Monday.

Deputy Managing Director of the league sponsor Popular Life Insurance Company Alamgir Firoz and BVF Joint-Secretaries Advocate Fazle Rabbi Babul and Md Azizur Rahman were also present on the occasion

Defending champions Titas Club put in Group A with Water Development Board (WDB), Police Athletics Club, Bangladesh Jail (Prison Directorate) and Dhaka Sabuj while Runners-Up Power Development Board (PDB) were placed in Group B with Border Guard Bangladesh, Wari Club, Azad Sporting Club and Bangladesh Ansar.

The competition will be held on the round-robin league basis in the group phase. Later, two top teams from each group will move into the semifinals. The semis and final will be held on January 27 and 28 respectively.

Source: United News of Bangladesh