Asian Nations Cup Online Chess begins Saturday

The Asian Nations Cup Online Chess Championship 2020, organised by the Asian Chess Federation, begins on Saturday.


Thirty-nine teams will compete in the open section while 32 teams will participate in the women’s section of the meet to be participated by Asian and Oceania region teams including Bangladesh, India, Kazakhstan, Iran, Australia and the Philippines.


Preliminary phase of both sections will be held on nine-round Swiss-League system.


Eight teams from each section will qualify for the quarter final.


In the Open section, Bangladesh team consists of – Captain: Dr. Shoeb Reaz Alam, Players: GM Niaz Murshed, GM Ziaur Rahman, GM Reefat Bin Sattar, IM Mohammad Fahad Rahman and IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin.


In the Women’s section, Bangladesh team consists of Captain: WCM Mahmuda Hoque Chowdhury Moly, players: WIM Rani Hamid, WIM Sharmin Sultana Shirin, WCM Ahmed Walijah, WFM Nazrana Khan Eva and WFM Noshin Anjum.


FIDE Trainer IM Abu Sufian Shakil will be the Technical Coach of Bangladesh.


US$20,000 prize money will be given to the winners of both sections.


Source: United News of Bangladesh