Asia Cup Hockey begins Monday in Jakarta


The 11th edition of the eight-nation Asia Cup Hockey ‘2022 begins on Monday at the GBK Hockey Field in Jakarta.

Top five teams of the last Asia Cup–holders India, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea–,hosts Indonesia and last AHF Cup champions Bangladesh and runners- up Oman have qualified for the tournament. Bangladesh team was placed in four-team Pool B with Malaysia, South Korea and Oman while Pool A team comprises India Japan, Pakistan and hosts Indonesia.

Four matches will be held on the opening day (Monday).

Malaysia will face Oman in the inaugural match at 10:45 am (Bangladesh time) while Bangladesh will face former champions South Korea at 1:pm (BST) in the Pool B matches.

In Pool A matches, Japan will meet hosts Indonesia at 3:15 pm (BST) while India will play their arch- rivals Pakistan at 5:30 pm (BST) in the other opening day’s fixture.

In the remaining group matches, Bangladesh will play Oman on Tuesday (May 24) at 10:45 am and meet Malaysia on Thursday (May 26) at 1: pm, all are Bangladesh time.

The final match will be held on June 1.

South Korea clinched the Asia Cup title for a record four times while India followed them by winning the title for three times.

Bangladesh Hockey team, now in Indonesia to participate in the Hero Men’s Asia Cup Hockey’ 2022 played two preparatory matches ahead of the main event.

Bangladesh suffered 1-5 goals defeat against holders India in their 2nd preparatory match after beating hosts Indonesia by 2-1 goals in the first match.

Earlier, Bangladesh qualified for the Hero Men’s Asia Cup Hockey by clinching the nine-nation Men’s AHF Cup Hockey title for the 4th consecutive times with all-win record also held in Jakarta last March.