Arafat stars in Doleshwar 5-wicket win in premier cricket

DHAKA, April, 12 2017 (BSS) -A five-wicket haul by Arafat Sunny saw Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club record an impressive 78-run victory over Partex Sporting Club in the in the first round match of Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League held on Wednesday at BKSP ground no 4 in Savar.

Batting first after winning the toss, Prime Doleshwar, rode on two half centuries by Abdul Majid and Marshal Ayub, amassed a challenging total of 287 for 9 from their allotted 50 overs.

Majid scored 77 runs off 83 balls laced with six boundaries and two over boundaries while contributed 63 runs off 65 balls that studded with four boundaries and one over boundary. Imtiaz Hossain (38) and Punit Singh (29) were the other notable contributors for Doleshwar.

Golam Kabir was the pick of Partex bowler as he grabbed three Doleshwar's wicket conceding 41 runs. He was well supported by Shahanur Rahman and Hafiz Al Hasan who bagged two wickets each giving away 47 and 52 runs respectively.

Chasing a winning target of 288 runs set by Doleshwar, Partex SC found the chase quite stiff in face of tight bowling display by Doleshawar bowler and could only muster 209 in their stipulated 50 overs for the loss of nine wickets.

The highlight of Partex innings was Yaspal Singh's 74 runs. Indian recruited struck five boundaries and two over boundaries during his 96 balls stay on the crease. Sazzadul Haque (43), Rajibul Islam (26 n.o) and Irfaan Sukkur (19) werer the other notable scorers for Partex.

Arafat Sunny, the wrecker-in chief, grabbed five wickets for 33 runs while Farhad Reza claimed two wickets conceding 10 runs. Arafat Sunny of Dholeshwar was named the player of the match for his match winning bowling spells in the match.

Brief score:

Prime Doleshwar SC - 287 for 9 in 50 overs, Majid 77, Ayub 63, Imtiaz 38, Punit 29, Golam Kabir 3/41, Shahanur 2/47 and Hafiz 2/52.

Partex SC - 209 for 9 in 50 overs, Yash 74, Sazzadul 43, Rajibul 26 n.o, Arafat 5/33 and Farhar 2/10.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)