Government Policy

AL sends names to search committee for new EC

DHAKA, Jan 31, 2017 (BSS) - Bangladesh Awami League (AL), responding to the call of the search committee, today sent five names to the search committee for constituting the new Election Commission (EC).

"Awami League submitted a list of five names to the Search Committee for forming the new Election Commission," AL Office Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap told BSS.

He said the list of five names in a closed envelop was submitted to Cabinet Division Additional Secretary Abdul Wadud at about 12:40 pm.

The AL office secretary submitted party's letter containing the names of proposed Chief Election Commissioner and four other commissioners to the cabinet division.

"Awami League has proposed the names of honest, competent personalities who believe in the spirit of the 1971 Liberation War," he added.

Earlier on Monday evening, AL President Sheikh Hasina held a meeting with party Advisors and Executives committee members to finalise the list of the proposed names of the Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners.

President Abdul Hamid formed the six-member search committee, headed by Supreme Court's Appellate Division Judge Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, for forming the new EC on January 25.

The search committee on Saturday held its first meeting and asked each of the 31 political parties which took part in talks with President Abdul Hamid over formation of the next EC to propose five names.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)