Government Policy

AL nominees sweep Dhaka city polls

DHAKA Awami League candidates Atiqul Islam and

Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh today swept the elections as residents of

the capital elected their mayors to hold the offices of Dhaka North City

Corporation (DNCC) and Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) for next five


Respective returning officers unofficially declared them elected after

the daylong voting with electronic voting machines (EVMs), used entirely for

the first time in any major election, while the formal results would be

published later through gazette notifications.

AL nominee for DNCC Atiqul Islam bagged 4,47,211 votes defeating his

nearest contestant Tabith Awal who secured 2,64,161 votes while AL candidate

for DSCC Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh bagged 4,24,595 votes defeating his nearest

BNP contestant Ishraq Hossain who secured 2,36,512 votes.

Returning Officers of DNCC and DSCC Md Abul Kashem and Md Abdul Baten

declared separately the results of all 2,468 polling centers for polls at

their respective makeshift offices at Shilpakala Academy and Sher-e-Bangla

Agriculture University in the city.

Earlier, the voting began at 8am and it continued till 4pm without any

break. The polls were held in a festive and peaceful manner as no major

untoward incident took place in the polls.

The voters also expressed satisfaction over the use of EVMs in the polls

though some senior citizens faced a little trouble in matching finger prints

during casting their votes.

Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina cast her vote at

Dhaka College Centre here in the morning.

While talking to reporters after casting her vote, she expressed her

firm optimism about the victory of Awami League candidates in the Dhaka city

corporation elections.

AL nominee for DNCC polls Atiqual Islam cast his vote at 8:15am at Nawab

Habibullah Model School and College polling centre in Uttara while BNP

contestant Tabith Awal cast his vote at the polling centre of Gulshan Manarat

International School and College in the morning.

AL candidate for DSCC polls Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh cast his

vote at Dhanmondi Kamrunnessa Government Girls' High School while BNP

candidate Ishraq Hossain cast his vote at Shaheed Shahjahan Government

Primary School polling centre at Gopibagh in the morning.

Earlier, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda said he was

satisfied with the overall election atmosphere as voters were positive about

the EVMs.

The overall environment for the election is peaceful . . . I am

satisfied. Voters are positive about the EVM, said the CEC while talking to

journalists after casting his vote at 11:05am at the polling centre of I.E.S

School and College of Sector-5, Uttara.

Marking the polls, motorcycle movement remain stopped since Thursday

midnight and the bar will stay till 6am on February 2 while all kinds of

vehicular movement remain stopped from Friday midnight to 6pm on Saturday.

Besides, plying of water vessels also remain stopped from Friday

midnight to Saturday midnight.

Around 50,000 members of law enforcement agencies were deployed in the

two city corporations to ensure the security.

A total of 129 executive magistrates and 64 judicial magistrates were

deployed in the two city corporations.

A total of 1013 local observers of 22 institutions monitored the polls

while 74 persons acted as foreign observers.

A total of 13 mayoral candidates contested the Dhaka north and south

city corporation elections while around 7500 candidates vied for councilor

posts in the two city corporations.

In Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC), there were 30 lakh 10 thousand

273 voters. Of the voters, 15, 49,567 were male and 14, 60,706 were female.

DNCC has 1,318 polling centers while there are 54 general and 18

reserved (women) wards in the city corporation.

In DSCC, there were 1,150 polling centers for 24 lakh 53 thousand 194

voters. Of them, 12 lakh 93 thousand 441 were male and 11 lakh 59 thousand

753 were female.

DSCC has 1,150 polling centers while it has 75 general and 25 reserved


Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)