AL finalises candidates in UP polls in three upazilas

DHAKA, Bangladesh Awami League (AL) today finalised its candidates in the chairman posts for the union parishad (UP) elections in 10 UPs in Patuakhali Sadar, Mymensingh Sadar and Kamalnagar upazilas.

The nominations were finalised at a meeting of the AL Local Government Nomination Board held at Ganabhaban, the official residence of the prime minister, here this evening, said a party press release signed by Office Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap.

AL Local Government Nomination Board Chairman and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

The chairman candidates in Patuakhali Sadar upazila are Shafiqul Islam (Kamalapur union) and Rubel Ahmmed (Bhuria union).

The candidates in Mymensingh Sadar upazila are Abu Sayeed (Sirta union), Rezae Mohammad Ziaul Hasan (Char Iswardia), Md Tofazzal Hossain (Char Nilakhia union), Md Mahmudul Haque Kamrul (Khagdahar union), Md Humayun Hasan (Dapunia union) and Md Abdus Sattar (Bhabkhali union).

The candidates in Kamalnagar upazila of Lakhkhipur district are Rafiqul Islam (Char Kalkini union) and Abu Bakar Siddiq (Saheber Hat union).

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)