Advance rail ticket sale for Eid from July 29

DHAKA, Bangladesh Railway will start selling advance

train tickets for the holy EidulAzha from July 29.

Sale of tickets for intercity trains will continue till August 2, Railways

Minister Md Nurul Islam Sujan told a press conference at Rail Bhaban here.

He said the passengers can purchase advance rail tickets of August 7, 8,

9, 10 and 11 on July 29, 30, 31, August 1 and 2 respectively.

The holy EidulAzha will be celebrated on August 12 or 13 on the basis of

moon sighting.

While the sale of return tickets will begin on August 5 and it will

continue till August 9, the minister added.

Sujan said the holidaymakers can collect their advance train tickets for

return journey of August 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 on August 5, 6, 7, 8, 9.

He said the advance tickets will be sold from five places this time.

Sujan said tickets for all intercity trains to the country's western

region will be sold from Kamalapur Railway Station while the tickets to

Chattogram and Noakhali destinations will be sold from Airport Railway


Passengers of Netrokonabound Mohongonj and Haor Express will have to

collect tickets from Banani Station while tickets of Mymensingh and Jamalpur

bound all intercity trains will be sold at Tejgaon Station, he added.

He said Sylhet and Kishoreganjbound holidaymakers will have to collect

tickets from Old Rail Bhaban in Fulbaria area here.

The minister said tickets will be sold from 9am to 4pm every day without

any break while holidaymakers can buy tickets online using mobile app from


Maximum four advance rail tickets will be given to one person or

passenger, he said.

Fifty per cent of the total tickets will be sold online from July 29 and

the rest will be sold from the five places.

Marking the EidulAzha, offday of all intercity trains will remain

canceled from August 7 to one day before the festival.

He said once sold, Eid tickets will not be returned while national identity

(NID) card will be required to buy tickets.

Marking the Eid, Bangladesh Railway will run eight pairs of special trains.

Railways Secretary Md. Mofazzel Hossain, Bangladesh Railway Director

General Md Shamsuzzaman and Additional Director General Mia Jahan were

present on the occasion.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)