ACC public hearing plays effective role in fighting corruption

DHAKA, Jan 12, 2017 (BSS)-The public hearing hosted by the Anti Corruption Commission (ACC) is playing an effective role in fighting corruption and making corrupt elements at public offices transparent and accountable as well as ensuring quick and hassle-free services.

"We have started holding public hearings as a new approach to ensure

transparency and accountability at the government offices," said ACC Chairman Iqbal Mahmood.

"The commission has a plan to hold at least three public hearings in a month this year after taking into consideration the effectiveness of the strategy to fight corruption," he said, adding that measures will be taken within three working days after getting allegations in the hearings.

"Negligence and corruption of some unscrupulous government officials have been barring people from getting the proper services they seek. The ACC will not hesitate to take action if they do not change their mindset in the days to come," he added.

The ACC initiated the new approach to fight corruption in December 2014. Due to the participation of the commoners alongside the concerned officials, the hearings have become an effective weapon in curbing corruption in the public sector.

It has already held 38 public hearings in the last two years and 30 of those hearings have held last year. The people have lodged around 1500 allegations during the hearings.

In accordance with the allegations, two employees at land and cooperatives offices in Chandpur district have so far been fired and many complaints have already been disposed of.

The lone anti-graft watchdog has already held public hearings at Passport and Immigration Department, at Char Fasson upazila (Bhola district), Narail upazila (Narail district), Derai upazila (Sunamganj district), Faridganj upazila (Chandpur district), Kalapara upazila (Patuakhali district), Kasba upazila (Brahmanbaria district), Kushtia, Laksam upazila (Comilla district), Maheshkhali upazila, Patharghata upazila (Barguna district), Rajoir upazila (Madaripur district), Sandwip upazila (Chittagong District), Savar (Dhaka district), Sonargaon upazila (Narayanganj District), Sreemangal upazila (Maulvibazar district), Suborno Char upazila (Noakhali district), Nalitabari upazila (Sherpur district) and Mohanganj upazila (Netrokona district).

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)