9 BNP men land in jail in Naogaon


A Naogaon court on Wednesday sent nine leaders and activists of BNP and its associate bodies to jail in a case filed under the Explosive Substances Act.


Naogaon District and Sessions Judge Abu Shamim Azad passed the order after rejecting their bail petitions.


BNP, 32 parties stage huge showdowns in Dhaka as collective movement takes shape


They are Fazle Huda Babul, joint secretary of Badalgachhi upazila unit BNP, vice-president Zakir Hossain Chowdhury, general secretary Abdul Hadi Chowdhury Tipu, office secretary Shahin Hossain, Omar Faruk, Kola union unit BNP, Bidyit Hossain, general secretary of Balubhara union unit BNP, Anwar Hossain, vice-president of Mithapur union unit BNP, Rustom Ali, vice president of Mathurapur union unit Jubo Dal and Dulal Mohri, president of Badalgachhi upazila unit Krishak Dal.


According to the case statement, a number of crude bombs were exploded during a rally of Awami League, organised by upazila unit Awami League on Nevember 22.


Main demand of BNP’s 10 points is fall of govt: Mosharraf


Sanaul Hossain, President of upazila unit Krishak League lodged a complaint against 18 identified leaders and activists of BNP and 150 unidentified people with Badalgachhi Police Station.


Police arrested eight leaders of BNP from the upazila on that day.


Source: United News of Bangladesh