29 seek BNP nomination to contest by-polls

Twenty-nine BNP aspirants are now in the final race to get the party’s ticket to contest the upcoming by-polls to four parliamentary seats in Dhaka, Naogaon and Sirajganj.


BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi on Friday said a total of 29 BNP leaders submitted their nomination forms at their party’s central office aiming to be nominated as the candidates of “Sheaf of Paddy’ in the four by-polls.


Of them, 22 aspirants bought the party nomination papers on Thursday while six others on Friday.


A total of six BNP aspirants submitted nomination forms for contesting the Dhaka-5 seat while nine each for Dhaka-18 and Naogaon- 6 and five for Sirajganj-1 by-elections.


Rizvi said BNP’s nomination board will take interviews of the nomination seekers on Saturday evening at BNP Chairperson’s Gulshan and pick four candidates.


As per the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the by-polls to Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 will be held on October 17 next.


The EC, however, still did not announce the schedule for Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 by-polls.


Dhaka-5, Dhaka-18, Naogaon-6 and Sirajganj-1 constituencies fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Habibur Rahman Molla, Sahara Khatun, Israfil Alam and Mohammad Nasim respectively.


Earlier on August 31 last, the party picked Habibur Rahman Habib, a member of the party chairperson’s advisory council, as its candidate to contest the Pabna-4 by-election billed for September 26.


Source: United News of Bangladesh




Operation Elegant Bite: 4 ‘Neo JMB’ members held in city


Police arrested four suspected members of militant outfit ‘Neo JMB’ from Ajampur area of the city on Thursday, over a blast incident in Paltan area on July 24.


The arrestees are – Mamun Al Mujahid alias Suman alias Abu Abdur Rahman, Md Alamin alias Abu Ziyad, Md Mojahidul Islam alias Rokon alias Abu Tarique and Sarwar Hossain Rahat.


A team of Counter Terrorism and Transnational Crime (CTTC) unit of Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) conducted a raid in Ajampur and arrested them around 9pm, a press release said.


The drive was conducted under operation Elegant Bite of the CTTC.


On July 24, the blast incident took place in Purana Paltan area of the capital around 9:30pm. A case was filed over the incident with Paltan Model Police Station.


Later, a CTTC team conducted a drive called “Operation Elegant Bite” in Sylhet and arrested 5 “Neo JMB| members on August 11, in connection with the Paltan blast.


The latest arrest came as per information gleaned from the five during quizzing.


A court placed the four on 2-day remand when the investigation officer of the case produced them before the court.


Source: United News of Bangladesh