27 police FFs given reception in Rajshahi

RAJSHAHI, A total of 27 police freedom fighters were honoured this morning through a reception as recognition to the laudable and heroic role towards independence of the country.

Rajshahi Metropolitan Police (RMP) organised the reception ceremony at police line conference hall to mark the 48th Great Victory Day. RMP Commissioner AKM Hafiz Akter distributed crests and gifts among the freedom fighter police officers and members.

Chaired by RMP Commissioner Hafiz Akter, the ceremony was addressed, among others, by retired Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Police and valiant Freedom Fighter Md Obaidullah, RMP Additional Commissioner Sujayet Islam and Deputy Commissioner Tanveer Haider Chowdhury.

Recalling his memory Md Obaidullah said the country people would never forget the sacrifice of police during the War of Liberation.

He said police personnel had built armed resistance against the first attack of Pakistani military on the starting stage of the war.

On March 26, 1971, hundreds of policemen became martyred in Dhaka, he added.

He told the meeting that Shah Abdul Mazid joined as Superintendent of Police (SP) of Rajshahi on August 15, 1970.

On March 29, Pakistani military attempted to take control over the Rajshahi police lines. Then police led by the SP had resisted them. More than 50 policemen were martyred in the battle. Many Pakistani military men were also killed and injured.

On March 31, the Pakistani military forcibly took away SP Mazid from the banglow of Deputy Commissioner and since then he has remained missing.

Speaking on the occasion Hafiz Akter mentioned that the RMP is very much positive towards the best sons of the soil alongside improving their living and livelihood condition.

He said all of us should have to take the responsibility of protecting the great sons of the soil freedom fighters. All of us should stand beside them. The significance and spirit of the war of liberation should be highlighted before the new generation.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)