22 district council chairmen elected unopposed

Twenty two district council chairmen have been elected unopposed.

Farhad Ahmed Khan, deputy secretary to the election commission and is also in-charge of election officer, told reporters today that the twenty two district council chairmen were elected unopposed after the scrutiny of nomination papers of the candidates.

He also said the commission today allocated symbols for 139 candidates contesting in the rest 39 district council polls. As the election commission distributed symbols, the contesting candidates will start their election campaign in their respective district.

The 22 district council chairmen elected opposed are: Anowar Hossain in Narayanganj, M Aktharuzzaman in Gazipur, Sadeq Koraishi in Thakurgaon, Arifur Rahman Rocket in Joypurhat, Sajedur Rahman Khan in Natore, Abdul Latif Biswas in Sirajganj, Shah Hadiuzzaman in Jessore, Sheikh Kamruzzaman Tuku in Bagherhat, Sardar Shahalam in Jhalakathi, Abdul Momin Tulu in Bhola, Prashanta Kumar Roy in Netrakona, M Mohiuddin in Munshiganj, Azizul Imam Chowdhury in Dinajpur, AKM Fajle Rabbi in Nogaon, Robiul Islam in Kushtia, Aziz Ahmed Chowdhry in Feni, M Zillur Rahman in Kishorganj, M Mahbubur Rahman in Dhaka, Dr mohammad Mushfiq Hossain Chowdhury in Hobiganj, M Abdus salam in Chittagong, Fazlur Rahman Khan Faruk in Tangail and Lokman Miradha in Faridpur.

Besides, some 2,985 are contesting for the posts of general members while 805 are contesting for the posts of women reserve members. The commission said 139 general members and 53 reserve members were elected unopposed.

There would be no direct election. The district council election is scheduled to be held on December 28 next.

Elected representatives of different local government bodies in respective district would cast their votes to elect a 21-member body for each district council that would be comprised of a chairman, 15 general members and five reserved women members.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)