Government Policy

2 probe committees formed regarding collision of railway engines

CHITTAGONG, April 8, 2017 (BSS)- The authority of Bangladesh Railway (BR) today formed two probe committees for carrying out investigation into the collision of two railway engines near Chittagong Railway station on Saturday morning.

BR Director General Mohammad Amzad Hossain formed a three-member high-level investigation committee with Chief Transport Officer of BR East Zone Mia Hazan as its chief.

The other two members of the committee are - Chief Engineer (mechanical) Monjurul Islam Chowdhury and Chief Signal and Telecommunications Engineer (acting) Moinul Islam.

Besides, Divisional Railway Manager Jahangir Hossain formed another divisional-level investigation committee with Divisional Transport Officer Firoz Iftekhar as its chief.

The other two members of the committee are - Divisional Mechanical Engineer Saiful Islam and Divisional Signal and Telecommunications Engineer Mohammad Selim.

Both the committees have been asked to submit their probe reports within the shortest possible time, BR sources said.

According to BR sources, "Bijoy Express" coming from Mymensingh collided with a shunting engine of another train while entering Chittagong Railway Station around 4.45am today.

Front parts of both the engines were affected but none was, however, injured in the collision.

After the incident, the BR authority temporarily suspended the two train drivers for negligence of their duties.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)