Government Policy

14-member delegation to join 135th IPU assembly

A 14-member delegation of the Jatiya Sangsad left here yesterday to join the 135th Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) Assembly in Geneva.

Deputy Speaker M Fazley Rabbi Miah is leading the delegation. The assembly began today which would be ended on October 27, said a release.

Other members of the delegation are: Leader of the Opposition Begum Rawshan Ershad, Chief Whip ASM Feroz, Whip M Atiur Rahman Atiq, Abdul Matin Khosru, Abul Kalam Azad, ABM Fazley Karim Chowdhury, M Habibey Millat, Rezwan Ahmed Towfiq, Begum Nasima Ferdousi, Rawshan Ara Mannan, Selim Uddin, MA Awal and senior secretary of the Jatiya Sangsad secretariat Dr Abdur Rab Hawlader.

Parliament members from IPU member states would join the general discussion on Human Rights Abuses as precursors of conflict: Parliaments as early responders.

Bangladesh Jatiya Sangsad got the IPU membership in 1972 soon after the independence. Parliament Member Saber Hossian Chowdhury currently performing as elected president of the international parliament body.

IPU is the largest parliamentary association in the world and it has 170 members along with 11 associate organizations.

The next 136th IPU assembly is scheduled to be held in Dhaka in next April, the release added.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)