12th Teer National Archery begins in Cox’s Bazar

The Bangabandhu 12th Teer National Archery Championship 2021 began at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar on Tuesday.


State Minister for Youth and Sports Zahid Ahsan Russell inaugurated the meet in the afternoon at a simple ceremony organised by Bangladesh Archery Federation (BAF) and sponsored City Group (Teer).


BAF President Lt Gen M Moinul Islam (retd), BSF General Secretary Kazi Rajibuddin Ahmed Chapal and Tournament and Ground Committee convener Rashiduzzaman Serniabat among others, were present on the occasion.


Qualification round of the meet was held on the opening day.


In the qualification round matches, Army Archery Club clinched the top slot in four events— recurve women’s team, compound men’s team, compound women’s team and compound mixed team.


Ruman Shana’s Bangladesh Ansar finished top in recurve men’s team while Police Archery Club clinched the top slot in recurve mixed team in the qualification rounds.


Besides, Ram Krishna Saha of Air Force clinched the top place in recurve men’s singles, Mehnaj Akhter Monira of Army AC in recurve women’s singles, Ashim Kumar Das of Police AC in compound men’s singles while Rokshana of Army AC in compound women’s singles.


Some 148 archers from 40 teams are taking part in five events of Recurve and Compound Divisions—Men’s Team, Women’s Team, Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles and Mixed Doubles.


Source: United News of Bangladesh