12 BNP leaders suspend for attacking Fakhrul’s house

The Dhaka north city unit of BNP on Monday suspended its 12 leaders for their involvement in attacking the house of party Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir in the capital’s Uttara area.


The decision was taken after reviewing the video footages of the attack, Dhaka north city unit BNP office secretary Abdur Razzak told UNB.


“We saw the video footages of that day’s horrific incident. We specifically identified 12 of our leaders and activists who carried out the incident in connivance with Awami League men,” he said.


Those were expelled include Dakkhinkhan than the vice president Phul Islam, its members Nazimuddin Dewan, Amjad Hossain, 50 Ward No general secretary Amanullah, organising secretary Mokhles, Uttar Purba thana organising secretaries Taizul Islam, Matiur Rahman Moti, joint general secretary MA Hannan Milon, office secretary Habibur Rahman, expatriate welfare affairs secretary Abdul Quader Swapan, labour affairs secretary Harunur Rashid and Uttar Khan thana unit member Nur Mohammad.


According to a press release of the north city BNP, the action was taken against the 12 party men for violating its discipline.


It said the decision will come into effect immediately.


A group of BNP leaders on Saturday threw eggs and stones towards the house of Fakhrul Islam protesting the party’s decision of nominating SM Jahangir for contesting the Dhaka-18 by-polls.


They also chanted various slogans in favour of party leader Kofiluddin and demanded that he be given the party ticket.


On Friday, BNP picked SM Jahangir as its candidate to contest the upcoming Dhaka-18 by-election.


Fakhrul announced the names of the candidates of “Sheaf of Paddy’ for the two by-polls at a press conference at BNP Chairperson’s Gulshan office.


The Dhaka-18 seat fell vacant after the death of former minister and Awami League presidium member Sahara Khatun on July 9.


The by-election to the seat will be held on November 12 using electronic voting machines.


Source: United News of Bangladesh