11 Jamaat men remanded in special powers act case

A Dhaka court today placed 11 leaders and activists of Jamaat-e-Islami on one day remand each in a case lodged under Special Powers Act.

The 11 remanded accused are- Hossain Bin Monsur, Mufti Rahmatullah Bin Tofazzal, AKM Abdus Salam, Abdullah Al Mahfuz, Saimum Jamil, Md Hafizur Rahman, Anjum Bin Kamal, Nur Mohammad Monir, Salauddin Sabbir, Abdur Nur and Md Nasir Uddin.

Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate Mohammad Nurul Huda passed the order as police produced the accused before the court and pleaded to place them on seven-day remand each in the case filed with Gulshan Police Station.

Police arrested them from a house in Shahjadpur area on March 27 while they were allegedly attending a secret meeting there. Police recovered some books and bombs from their possessions.

Police later filed the case against the 11 accused.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha