Yasir, Mahidul’s fifties propel Tamim XI to 221

Half-centuries by Yasir Ali and Mahidul Islam helped Tamim XI post 221 for eight in 50 overs in the BCB President’s Cup on Monday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Tamim Iqbal, the captain of Tamim XI, won the toss and opted to bat first. But they failed to ensure a good start losing four wickets in 17 runs.

In the fiery first spell, Rubel Hossain bagged three of his four wickets in the game.

Tanzid Hasan Tamim was the first to fall when he tried to cut a delivery by Rubel, but only managed to send the ball to the slip cordon where Naim Sheikh took a brilliant catch.

Abu Hider Rony removed Tamim Iqbal who had started with two fours.

After the removal of both the openers, Rubel sent back Anamul Haque Bijoy (1) and Mohammad Mithun (2) to the dressing room.

Yasir Ali Rabbi and Mahidul Islam Ankon added 111 runs in the fourth wicket stand, hitting a fifty each. Yasir fell while running for a single scoring 62 off 81 balls with five fours and one six, while Mahidul posted 57 off 110 balls with three fours and two sixes.

In the seventh wicket stand, Mosaddek Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin added 75 runs, which has helped Tamim XI post 221 runs.

Mosaddek scored 40 off 39 with three fours and one six while Saifuddin scored 38 off 29 with four fours and one six.

For Mahmudullah XI, Rubel bagged four wickets conceding 34 in 10 overs. Ebadot Hossain got two wickets and Abu Hider Rony one.

Brief score:

Tamim XI 221/8 in 50 overs, Yasir 62, Mahidul 57, Mosaddek 40, Saifuddin 38; Rubel 4/34, Ebadot 2/60, Abu Hider 1/40.

Source: United News of Bangladesh