West Indies series: Najmul excited as Tigers start gearing up

Left-handed top-order batsman Najmul Hossain Shanto is excited after getting back into the national team practice session ahead of the home series against the West Indies.

The series will begin with the first ODI on January 20 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. And the Tigers started gearing up for the series at the same venue on Sunday.

All the 24 members of Bangladesh ODI preliminary squad joined the session under the supervision of head coach Russell Domingo who returned to Dhaka after a break of a few weeks.

Apart from the newly-appointed batting coach, Jon Lewis, all the foreign members of Bangladesh’s coaching staff will be there in the training camp.

However, spin-bowling consultant Daniel Vettori will not be available for this series. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) appointed Sohel Islam to do his job.

“I am super excited to be back in action with the national team after a long gap. We had a great session today,” Najmul said.

The home series against the West Indies will be Bangladesh’s first series after a long Covid-19 break.

The Tigers played their last international match in March last year at home against Zimbabwe. They were scheduled to tour Pakistan, Sri Lanka after that, but the Covid-19 situation did not allow them to do so.

“We are ready for international cricket after about a year. And we are prepared after playing in BCB President’s Cup and Bangabandhu T20 Cup,” Najmul said.

Bangladesh included six uncapped players in the ODI preliminary squad including Shoriful Islam, Parvez Hossain Emon – members of Bangladesh’s U-19 World Cup-winning squad.

However, the BCB selection panel chose to leave Mashrafe Bin Mortaza out from this series. The right-arm pacer stepped down as Bangladesh’s ODI captain in the last series.

Bangladesh’s preliminary ODI team

Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Yasir Ali, Mohammad Naim, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Parvez Hossain Emon, Mahadi Hasan and Rubel Hossain

Test squad

Momimul Haque, Taskin Ahmed, Tamim Iqbal, Khaled Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mustafizur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Yasir Ali, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain

Source: United News of Bangladesh