Top 10 Memorable Moments from T20 World Cup 2021

Australia won their first Twenty20 World Cup title after defeating New Zealand by 8 wickets in the championship match in Dubai. It was New Zealand’s third World Cup final defeat in a row. Australia’s David Warner was named player of the tournament for his consistent performance throughout the competition. There were a total of 1 hundred, 405 sixes, 944 boundaries, and 526 wickets in 45 matches. Let’s take a look back at the best 10 memorable moments from the T20 World Cup 2021.

T20 World Cup 2021: The 10 Unforgettable moments

The 2021 Twenty20 World Cup is filled with memorable experiences. Here are the top ten most notable moments.

10) Bangladesh’s embarrassing loss to Scotland

Bangladesh’s World Cup campaign had begun with a disheartening 6-run defeat against Scotland. If they hadn’t won their next two games against Oman and Papua New Guinea, they could have been eliminated from the competition at the qualifying stage. The major upset in the seventh edition of the Twenty20 World Cup was Bangladesh’s defeat to Scotland.

9) India’s amazing 210/2 total against Afghanistan

The highest and only 200+ score in the tournament was India’s 210/2 against Afghanistan in the Super 12 Round. India eventually won the match by a margin of 66 runs.

8) The five-wicket hauls of Mujeeb and Zampa

Mujeeb Ur Rahman of Afghanistan and Australia’s Adam Zampa were the only two bowlers in the competition to take 5 wickets in an innings. Mujeeb took 5/20 against Scotland, helping his team to a stunning 130-run victory. On the other hand, Zampa grabbed 5/19 against Bangladesh and helped Australia win by 8 wickets.

7) Namibia’s incredible run in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Ireland and the Netherlands were the favorites to proceed to the Super 12 round from Group A. However, Namibia surprised everyone by qualifying for the next round. They had maintained their dream run in the competition with a good victory against Scotland in the Super 12s.

6) Jos Buttler’s unbeaten 101* against Sri Lanka

Jos Buttler of England was the tournament’s only centurion. He became the only English player to score a century across all formats with an unbroken 101*-run knock against Sri Lanka in the Super 12 Round.

5) Mitchell Marsh’s match-winning knock in the final

The Australian team management was split on whether Mitchell Marsh deserved a spot in the playing XI. The all-rounder proved everyone wrong with a decisive 77 off 50 balls knock in the final.

4) Australia and New Zealand put up sensational run chases in the semi-finals

England and Pakistan were favorites against New Zealand and Australia, respectively in the semi-finals. Though the two Oceania nations knocked out both of the favorites. Interestingly, New Zealand and Australia won their respective matches by chasing down challenging totals.

3) India’s exit from the Super 12 Round

India were a heavy favourite to win the T20 World Cup 2021, but their exit from the Super 12 Round was all but confirmed following two consecutive losses to Pakistan and New Zealand.

2) Pakistan’s first victory over India in a World Cup match

Pakistan had never beaten India in a World Cup match prior to this event. Finally, Pakistan defeated India in their first match of the Twenty20 World Cup 2021. They thrashed India by ten wickets in a one-sided affair.

1) Outstanding Four wickets in four deliveries by Curtis Campher

Irish pacer Curtis Campher became the third bowler in T20I history to grab four wickets in consecutive deliveries after Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga and Afghan spinner Rashid Khan. He accomplished the feat against the Netherlands in a Group A qualifier match. Ireland won the match by 7 wickets.


Asian sides were regarded as favorites to win the T20 World Cup 2021. Though, only Pakistan made it to the semi-finals among the Asian teams. Champion Australia were in bad shape prior to the main event. However, they gradually improved as the competition progressed and finally won the tournament. On the other side, New Zealand had yet another heartbreaking World Cup event. They lost the title match to arch-rival Australia after failing to implement their tactics on the field. Australia will host the eighth edition of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup next year.

Source: United News of Bangladesh