Tigers seal ODI series with a comprehensive win

Bangladesh beat the West Indies by seven wickets on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

With this win, they sealed the Bangabandhu Bangladesh vs West Indies Cricket Series with one match to play on January 25 in Chattogram.

The West Indies won the toss and opted to bat first, but they failed to post a decent total.

Rovman Powell was the best batsman for the West Indies who scored 41 off 66 balls. But they only managed to post 148 as the other batsmen disappointed.

In reply, Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal hit 50 off 76 to guide the Tigers to a comprehensive and easy win. The hosts chased down the target of 149 in 33.2 overs, losing three wickets.

Tamim and Liton Das opened to reply for Bangladesh and added 30 runs in the first wicket stand before Liton was removed by Akeal Hosein.

Next Najmul Hossain Shanto got dismissed for 17. He fell prey to the West Indies captain Jason Mohammed.

However, Tamim and Shakib led the Tigers to victory. But Tamim fell right after scoring his 47th 50 in international cricket.

Shakib and Mushfiqur Rahim finished the remaining job for the hosts. Both Shakib and Mushfiqur remained unbeaten for 43 and 9 respectively.

Mehidy was awarded the man of the match for taking four wickets for 25 runs.

Earlier, the West Indies could not overcome their poor batting show and were wrapped up for only 148 for all in the second game of the ODI series.

Right-arm spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz bagged four for 25 in 9.4 overs, his best bowling figure in ODI. His previous best was taking four for 29 runs. Mustafizur Rahman and Shakib Al Hasan took two wickets each.

Unlike the first match of the series, Jason Mohammed, the stand-in captain of the West Indies, won the toss and opted to bat first. His decision came as a surprise as the wicket, which was used in the first game as well, was not a good one for the batsmen.

However, the West Indies did not lose their first wicket in the second over as they did in the first game. Despite that, they failed to take control of the game with the bat.

Mustafizur brought the first breakthrough for the hosts, removing Sunil Ambris in the fifth over for 6. The debutant Kjorn Ottley and wicketkeeper-batsman Joshua Da Silva faced 50 balls in the second wicket stand to post only 26 runs.

Mehidy took the second wicket removing the debutant Ottley for 24. It was a length ball at the outside off stump. And Ottley hit the ball hard only to be caught by Tamim Iqbal at the extra cover area.

And the right-arm spinner took the next wicket as well, dismissing Joshua Da Silva for 5 off 22 balls. This time it was a length ball again, and Da Silva defended, thinking the ball was coming into him. But the ball was straight and dislodged his stumps.

When the West Indies were struggling at 37 for three, Shakib bowled Ande McCarthy out for three and Najmul Hossain Shanto displayed a wonderful fielding effort to trap Kyle Mayers run-out for a duck.

In the sixth wicket stand, Mohammed and Nkrumah Bonner added 26 runs. When the partnership was getting big, Hasan Mahmud came to the scene and removed Booner for 20 off 25.

It was a length delivery, and Booner went to cut it away but only managed an inside edge. The ball came in kissing his bat and shattered stumps.

However, Mohammed was looking forward to making a good partnership with Rovman Powell, but Shakib removed him off an arm ball.

Mohammed applied for a DRS, thinking of having an inside edge, but the TV replay showed there was no connection between ball and bat.

Before being hunted by a stumping effort of Mushfiqur Rahim, Rovman posted 40, highest in the innings. He got support from Alzarri Joseph, 17, and Akeal Hosein, 12*.

In the ninth wicket stand, Rovman and Joseph added 32 runs, their highest stand in the match. In the last wicket stand, Rovman and Akeal faced 40 balls to post a total of 28.

Riding on the last two partnerships of the innings, the West Indies got close to 150. They eventually, managed to score for 148 for 10 in 43.3 overs.

The third and final ODI of the series will take place on January 25 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

After the ODI series, both teams will face off in a two-match Test series starting from February 3

Source: United News of Bangladesh