Government Policy

Tenzin Lekphell begins journey as BIMSTEC Secretary General

Tenzin Lekphell on Friday assumed the charges as the Secretary General of Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) on Friday.

During his arrival in Dhaka early on Friday, Md. Shamsul Haque, Additional Foreign Secretary (BIMSTEC & SAARC), Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bangladesh and Directors of the BIMSTEC Secretariat warmly welcomed the new Secretary General.

The BIMSTEC Member States are Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.

The Secretary General of BIMSTEC is appointed by the BIMSTEC Ministerial Meeting for a non-renewable term of three years, upon nomination by a Member State based on the principle of alphabetical rotation.

The Royal Government of Bhutan nominated Tenzin Lekphell for the position of third BIMSTEC Secretary General.

Accordingly, the External Affairs/Foreign Affairs/Foreign Ministers of the BIMSTEC Member States endorsed the appointment of Tenzin Lekphell as the next Secretary General of BIMSTEC, as recommended by the 21st Session of the BIMSTEC Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM) held virtually in Colombo, Sri Lanka on September 2.

Source: United News of Bangladesh