Shakib in ICC Men’s ODI team of decade

Former Bangladesh captain, allrounder Shakib Al Hasan, has been named in the CC Men’s ODI team of the decade as the only Bangladeshi.

ICC has also announced Test and T20 teams of the decade, but there is no Bangladeshi member in these teams.

In the ODI team, three members are from India- Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni; two members are from Australia- David Warner and Mitchel Starc and South Africa- AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir, and one member from England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh- Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga and Shakib Al Hasan.

To consider a player for this team, ICC evaluated their performance from January 1, 2011, to October 7, 2020.

During this period, Shakib scored 3489 runs in 96 innings and scalped 131 wickets in 102 innings, which is unarguably the best all-round performance in ODI cricket during this period.

During the same period of time, a total of 35 bowlers bagged more than 100 wickets, but none could score runs like Shakib. The second man in the list is Mohammad Nabi who scored 2458 runs in this period along with taking more than 100 wickets.

And during the same period, a total of 54 batsmen amassed at least 2500 runs, but none could take wickets more than Shakib. Mohammad Hafeez of Pakistan is second in the list taking 94 wickets along with accumulating at least 2500 runs during this period of time.

ICC’s ODI team of the decade: Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni (c), Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Imran Tahir and Lasith Malinga

ICC Men’s Test team of the decade: Alistair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara, Ben Stokes, Ravi Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

ICC Men’s T20I team of the decade: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (c), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, and Lasith Malinga

Source: United News of Bangladesh