Rajshahi University journalists’ body gets new executive committee

The 15-member executive committee of Rajshahi University Journalist Association (Ruja) has been formed for the next one year.

Shahin Alam of Desh Rupantor became Ruja president and Nuruzzaman Khan of Daily Samakal was picked as its general secretary.

The organisation’s outgoing president Moin Uddin declared the committee while addressing the annual meeting of Ruja on Thursday night.

The other nominated office bearers are vice-presidents Raj Kiron Das (Bangladesh Post) and Tapos Kumar Sarker (Daily Prothom Alo), joint-secretary Noor Alam (Alokito Bangladesh), organising secretary Shahabuddin Islam (, treasurer Tousif Kaiyum (Bangla Tribune and Dhaka Tribune), and office secretary Abdus Sobur Lotus (

Also, Saifur Rahman of became the publication and publicity affairs secretary, Shohanur Rahman Rafi of UNB literature and cultural affairs secretary, Shanjana Sharif Sruti of information and technology affairs secretary, Imtiaz Ahmed of Rajshahi Post sports affairs secretary and Mariam Khatun Poli of Khobor 24 Ghonta planning and programme affairs secretary.

And the two selected executive members are Rifat Islam (Daily Peoples Time) and Mehedi Hasan Akash (

Ruja outgoing president Moin Uddin ( and NTV online) and vice president Redwanul Haque Bijoy (Kaler Kantho) will act as advisers to the committee.

Source: United News of Bangladesh