Prime Doleshwar continue their winning run in DPL T20 2021

Prime Doleshwar, Prime Bank, Abahani Ltd, Legends of Rupganj, Brothers Union, and Old DOHS all won their respective matches in the fifth round of the DPL T20 on June 8. This round of the DPL saw a number of exciting matches. Shakib Al Hasan-led Mohammedan Sporting Club have now lost two games in a row while unbeaten Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club continue to lead the league points table. Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mosaddek Hossain, and RahatulFerdous were among the good performers in this round. This article discusses all the results of the fifth round of the DPL T20 2021.

Winners of the fifth round of the DPL T20 2021

The Dhaka Premier League’s fifth round matches were all held on Tuesday. Let’s take a look at this round’s outcomes.

Mohammedan Sporting Club vs. Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club beat Mohammedan Sporting Club by 22 runs in a rain-affected match at BKSP, Savar and hold the top spot in the DPL T20 2021 points table.

Batting first, Prime Doleshwar scored 78-4 in the allotted 6 overs. Hard-hitting opener Imran Uzzaman hammered 41 off just 14 balls, featuring 5 huge sixes. Shamim Hossain also contributed 29 runs in 16 balls. Pacer Abu Jayed Rahi, who bowled only 1 over and picked up 2 wickets was the most impressive bowler for Mohammedan.

In chase, Mohammedan Sporting Club only managed to score 56 for 4. Skipper Shakib Al Hasan played a 22- run knock, while Shafiqul Islam bagged 3 wickets for Prime Doleshwar.

Prime Bank Cricket Club vs. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club

Prime Bank registered their fourth victory of the season after beating Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by 7 wickets on Tuesday at BKSP, Savar. They are currently in the second position in the points table.

Opting to bat first, Sheikh Jamal only managed to score 133-9 with veteran Sohrawordi Shuvo scoring the highest 34 runs for the team. National side pacers Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman bagged two wickets each for Prime Bank.

Prime Bank had to work hard to seal the victory as they reached the winning target in 19.3 overs for the loss of 3 wickets. Rony (48), Tamim (23), Anamul (35) and Mithun (21) all made notable contributions with the bat. Salauddin Sakil took two wickets for Sheikh Jamal.

Abahani Limited vs. Gazi Group Cricketers

Hot favourites Abahani Ltd returned to a winning streak in the fifth round after a disappointing loss in the previous round. They came out victorious against a strong Gazi Group side on Tuesday at SBNCS, Mirpur.

Batting first, Gazi Group made 150-8 thanks to a 78-run opening stand between Mahedi Hasan (43) and top scorer Soumya Sarkar (67). But they couldn’t capitalize the platform set by the opening pair and eventually had to settle for a challenging total to defend. Leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob was brilliant with the ball for Abahani, he picked up two wickets for only 19 runs in 4 overs.

Abahani chased down the target with two overs to spare for the loss of only 3 wickets. An unbeaten 105-run stand between Mr. dependable Mushfiqur Rahim (53*) and all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain’s (50*) eased the victory for Abahani.

Legends of Rupganj vs. Shinepukur Cricket Club

After three consecutive defeats, Legends of Rupganj sealed their first win of the season against Shinepukur Cricket Club at SBNCS, Mirpur.

In a rain-curtailed match, Rupganj made 81-6 in their allocated 12 overs. Sunzamul Islam (24) was the top scorer for Rupganj, while pacer Sumon Khan took 3 wickets for 20 runs.

In chase, Shinepukur made only 67 for the loss of 6 wickets. Wicket-keeper batsman Mahidul Islam Ankon (30) was the highest scorer for Shinepukur Cricket club. Player of the match winner Nabil Samad was outstanding with the ball, he picked up 3 valuable wickets for Rupganj.

Brothers Union vs. Partex Sporting Club

In Savar, Brothers Union registered second consecutive victory after winning their fifth-round fixture against Partex Sporting Club by 33 runs.

Batting first, Brothers Union scored 147/8 in 20 overs. RahatulFerdous made the highest 54 runs and Naeem Islam scored 34. Pacer Shahadat Hossain (2/26) was the most effective bowler for Partex.

Partex Sporting Club’s chase faltered as they were bowled out for 114 with a ball in hand. Dhiman Ghosh scored the highest 44 for his side, while Player of the Match Rahatul Ferdous snatched 4 wickets for Brothers Union.

Old DOHS Sports Club vs. KhelagharSamajKallyanSamity

Old DOHS Sports Club won against KhelgharSamaj Kallyan Samity by 17 runs on Tuesday at BKSP, Savar.

Batting first, Old DOHS put up 120/4 runs on board to defend. Opener Anisul Islam Emon (44) was the top scorer for the side. For Khelaghar, pacer Khaled Ahhmed took 3 wickets for 24 runs.

Due to rain interruption, the target was revised to 121 in 13 overs. Chase the revised target, Khelaghar managed only 103-5 and lost the match quite comprehensively. Captain Jahurul Islam made the highest 37 runs while Rakibul Hasan bagged two wickets for Old DOHS.

Bottom Line

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club remain in first place with 9 points after the fifth round of the DPL T20 2021. On the other side, Prime Bank Cricket Club and Abahani Limited are in second and third place respectively with 8 points. Prime Doleshwar have been in excellent form from the beginning of the competition, and they are a strong contender for the championship. Meanwhile, national team cricketers have started regaining their form gradually to play well in the DPL T20 2021.

Source: United News of Bangladesh