President’s dialogue: NAP leaders want law to form election commission

President Abdul Hamid on Sunday heard the proposal from Bangladesh National Awami Party (NAP) on as he continued discussions with political parties on formation of the next Election Commission.

The tenure of the current EC is to expire on February 14 next year.

Bangladesh National Awami Party (NAP) joined the dialogue at 4pm and presented its views on the next EC, President’s Press Secretary Joynal Abedin told UNB.

A seven member delegation led by NAP’s acting working President Ivy Ahmed met the President at Bangabhan in the evening.

Welcoming the delegation the president said the formation of the Election Commission is a constitutional responsibility. The main purpose of this discussion is to form an acceptable election commission.

President Hamid hoped that the formation of an acceptable, independent, impartial and strong election commission will be possible on the basis of discussions with the political parties in phase.

Bangladesh National Awami Party pfresdient put forward a six-point proposal to form an independent and impartial election commission.

Legislation to form Election Commission in accordance with Article 118 (1) of the Constitution, formation of Election Commission with efficient, honest and believers in the spirit of liberation war and making the Election Commission account to people were some of them.

They also thanked the president for taking the initiative of the discussion.

The other members of the delegation were – member of Presidium Abdur Rahman and Kazi Siddikur Rahman, acting general secretary Ismail Hossain, organisational secretary Shafiq Ahmed Khan, Liberation wars affairs secretary Partha Sarothi Chakrabarty and member (agriculture) of Presidium Anil Chakrabarty.

Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal (BSD), invited to Bangabhaban on Sunday, declined the invite, the press secretary said.

According to Bangabhaban press wing Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Khelafat Majlish will participate in the discussion at 4 pm and 6 pm tomorrow respectively. Bangladesh Workers’ Party is scheduled to meet the President at 4pm on Tuesday.

The other parties invited for the dialogue are Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF) and Islami Oikya Jote on December 29, Gano Forum and Bikalpo Dhara on January 2, Ganotantri Party and Communist Party of Bangladesh on January 3.

President earlier met the leaders of Jatiya Party and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Inu).

The country has now 39 registered political parties, according to the EC website and only nine of them have representation in Parliament.

The nine parties are Bangladesh Awami League, Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Ganoforum, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party-JP.

Source: United News of Bangladesh