Premier Hockey: Mariner Youngs clinch title beating Mohammedan 3-2

Dhaka Mariner Youngs’ Club earned their 2nd successive trophy in the season by clinching the Green Delta Insurance Premier Division Hockey League crown beating their giant neighbour Mohammedan SC by 3-2 goals at the Maulana Bhasani National Stadium here on Saturday.

This is the 2nd league crown for Mariner Youngs after their maiden title in 2016.

Earlier, star-studded Mariner Youngs Club clinched the title of the season’s curtain raiser hockey meet, the Club Cup Trophy, beating Dhaka Abahani Ltd in the final.

Mariner Youngs played their previous match against Dhaka Abahani needing just a draw to win the league title, but former champions Abahani Limited destroyed their dream all-win record beating them by 4-3 goals and halted their party to celebrate the league trophy with one match to spare.

With the day’s feat, Mariner Youngs emerged league champions securing 42 points from 15 matches with 14 wins and one defeat while Dhaka Abahani Limited finished league runners-up collecting 39 points from 15 encounters.

In the day’s keenly contested last league match, Mohammedan took the lead in the 10th minute from a penalty corner taken by Argentine player Ganzalo Peilet (1-0).

But, Mariner Youngs restored the parity in the 14th minute also from a penalty corner taken by Shohanur Rahman (1-1) and Mariners took lead from behind, also by a Shohanur Rahman’s penalty corner in the 25th minute (2-1)

Pradeep Mor scored the 3rd goal for Mariner in the 51st minute (3-1) while Sarwar Hossain turned the match exciting by pulling the Mohammedan margin back scoring a goal in the 57th minute (3-2).

Earlier in the day’s first match, Sonali Bank SC outplayed Bangladesh Sporting Club by 9-2 goals at the same venue Saturday afternoon.

Source: United News of Bangladesh